The Electrifying Mr Johnston plus Bite Size

Fri 8 Feb - Sat 9 Mar 2019
Across Scotland

Box Office 01688 302211

Share this event
 

a Mull Theatre production

The world premiere of
THE ELECTRIFYING MR JOHNSTON
by Robert Dawson Scott

plus
BITE-SIZE
(script-in-hand play excerpts)

THE ELECTRIFYING MR JOHNSTON
A new play about one of Scotland’s great unsung heroes, Tom Johnston, once described by Churchill as the 'King of Scotland', focusing on his struggles to bring “light to the glens.” Through incredible feats of engineering and political manoeuvring, he sought to transform the lives of everyone in the north of Scotland by bringing hydroelectric power to the Highlands & Islands.
A story of power-and the struggle for it.

Reproduction of the Tom Johnston portrait by kind permission of Scottish Friendly Assurance.

BITE-SIZE
An informal programme of script-in-hand play readings of new plays and works-in-progress.
Readings, encounters, questions & answers, feedback and chat offer audiences the chance to be part of and enjoy the fun of the creative process.

 

Friday 8 Feb                 Mull Theatre
Saturday 9 Feb            Corran Halls

Monday 11 Feb           Astley Hall, Arisaig
Tuesday 12 Feb          Appin Village Hall
Wednesday 13 Feb      Victory Hall, Benderloch
Friday 15 Feb              The Studio, Edinburgh
Saturday 16 Feb          The Beacon Arts Centre

Tuesday 19 Feb           Bowmore Hall, Islay
Wednesday 20 Feb      Tarbert Village Hall
Thursday 21 Feb         Dunoon Burgh Hall
Friday 22 Feb              Macrobert Arts Centre
Saturday 23 Feb          The Brunton, Musselburgh

Monday 25 Feb          The Sunart Centre
Tuesday 26 Feb         Plockton Village Hall
Wednesday 27 Feb    The Aros Centre, Skye
Thursday 28 Feb       Resolis Memorial Hall
Friday 1 March          Lyth Arts Centre, Wick
Saturday 2 March      Portgordon Village Hall

Monday 4 March       Eastwood Park Theatre
Wednesday 6 March  Birchvale Theatre
Thursday 7 March     Glencairn Memorial Inst. Moniaive
Friday 8 March          Paisley Arts Centre
Saturday 9 March     Eastgate Theatre, Peebles